Renewal Efforts Continue In Unincorporated Areas Of County

Harrison County is embarking on the next phase of the Gulf Coast rebuilding efforts with Town Hall meetings for the unincorporated communities north of Interstate 10. The meetings, scheduled for September 4th and 6th, will mark the continuation of planning efforts in the unincorporated areas of the county.

At the beginning of 2006, Harrison County began undertaking community plans in the unincorporated communities of Harrison County. To date plans for DeLisle, Henderson Point-Pass Christian Isles, Pineville, and Saucier have been completed.

The communities north of Interstate 10 (including unincorporated D'Iberville, Lizana, Lyman, Orange Grove, Riceville, Dedeaux, and Woolmarket) are the next set of communities that will receive planning assistance.

"We want to reach out to the residents, property owners and business owners in the unincorporated areas to hear their ideas for the future development and rebuilding that is necessary in their communities," said Patrick Bonck, Harrison County Zoning Administrator.

"A lot of work has been accomplished in the rebuilding effort and it is important for our unincorporated areas to play a part as well."

The Town Hall meetings are part of a six-month planning process where Harrison County is asking citizens to tell the County what they want for their future.

"We believe citizen input is vital to the process of rebuilding," Bonck said. "We know the task before us is enormous. This is a chance for any community member to be heard and play a direct role in the future of their communities."

Funding for these planning efforts has been provided by a grant from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.

For those unable to attend the meeting a special toll-free number has been established to record citizens' comments or questions.  They may call 1-800-609-9006 ext. 9647 to record a message.

Community members can learn more by visiting the Harrison County Zoning Office website at

The meetings are scheduled as follows and on the following page):

Western Area Town Hall Meeting (including Lizana, Lyman, Riceville and Dedeaux)
September 4, 2006 at 6 p.m.                        
Lizana Elementary School                        
15341 Lizana School Road                        
Gulfport, MS  39503

Eastern Area Town Hall Meeting (including unincorporated D'Iberville and Woolmarket) 
September 6, 2006 at 10:30 a.m.                        
Woolmarket Civic Center                        
16320 Old Woolmarket Road                        
Biloxi, MS  39532