Candidates qualify for Waveland's top job

Published: Sep. 9, 2014 at 1:47 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WAVELAND, MS (WLOX) - Eight candidates have qualified to run for the Mayoral seat in Waveland: Brent Anderson, Mark Kidd, Mike Smith, Santo Saucier, James Casey, Nick Saucier and Joel Wallace have all qualified as Democrats.  Jay Trapani has qualified as a Republican.

The qualifying deadline ended Friday. The winner will replace current Mayor David Garcia, who is retiring.

The city's primary election will be held November 4th, followed by the general election December second.

A total of 12 candidates qualified to run for board of aldermen seats.

In Ward 1 Roger Estopinal, Bill Corr and Terri Lynn Saucier have qualified as Democrats. In that same race, Nadine Brown is running as a Republican and Jeremy Burke as an Independent candidate.

Ward 2 incumbent Democratic candidate Rickey Geoffrey will face Republican candidate Bobby Richardson.

Ward 3 incumbent Democratic candidate Shane Lafontaine runs unopposed.

Ward 4 Charles Piazza runs under the Independent party and Brett Ladner and Brent Pitre are running as Republicans and Brice Phillips is running under the Libertarian party.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved.