Mississippi Association of Coaches releases All-State teams; Dunsford, Tingle earn POTY honors

This year saw four state championship appearances from teams on the coast.
This year saw four state championship appearances from teams on the coast.(WLOX/WTOK)
Published: Jun. 5, 2023 at 4:21 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BILOXI, Miss. (WLOX) - The Mississippi Association of Coaches has officially named their All-State teams for each class. Over 30 Coast players were given accolades.

In 6A, Gulfport leads the way with 4 players being recognized, including senior Jacob Palazzo. Biloxi’s Logan Fontenelle and D’Iberville backstop Colby Wilson were also named First Team.

Jacob PalazzoOFGulfportSenior
Ethan GarnerOFGulfportJunior
Ethan SuroweicINFGulfportJunior
Colby WilsonCD’IbervilleSenior
Logan FontenelleUTLBiloxiJunior
Josh Lee*UTLGulfportSenior

*denotes Second Team honors

In 5A, the East Central Hornets earned the title of back-to-back State Champions this year, and it shows on this list. Coach Michael Long was named Coach of the Year and Mr. Baseball TJ Dunsford was named Player of the Year. Other notable players include multisport athlete Kaden Irving of Gautier, Pearl River Central outfielder Caleb Dyess and East Central catcher Logan Terry.

COTY - Michael LongCoachEast Central
POTY - TJ DunsfordINF/PEast CentralSenior
Carson RyderINFEast CentralSenior
Kaden IrvingINFGautierSenior
Caleb DyessOFPRCSenior
Brandt DickersonOFEast CentralSenior
Logan TerryCEast CentralSenior
Hunter Parker*PVancleaveJunior
Jacob Johnson*PPRCJunior
Kyler King*INFPicayuneJunior
Gage Reeves*OFGeorge CountyJunior
Brady Robertson*OFPicayuneJunior
Ben Davis*OFGeorge CountySophomore

*denotes Second Team honors

Pass Christian infielder Peyton Lacy represents 4A’s only Coast player given First Team honors. Two others received were named to Second Team.

Peyton LacyINFPass ChristianSenior
Connor Tice*PStoneJunior
Dylan Welter*UTLPass ChristianSenior

*denotes Second Team honors

The St. Stanislaus Rock-a-Chaws advanced as far as Game 3 of the 3A State Championship but ultimately fell to the Amory Panthers. Despite not coming away with the series win, the team is showcased by 5 players who made the list.

Hugh LeMastersINFSt. StanislausSenior
Chesley RhodesOFSt. StanislausJunior
Seth FarniOFSt. StanislausSenior
Otis Brooks*PSt. StanislausSenior
Hill Gainey*PSt. StanislausSenior

*denotes Second Team honors

Down in 1A, the Resurrection Catholic Eagles won their second championship in two years with one of the best feel-good stories in high school baseball. Aron Frederic earns Coach of the Year honors, and Cole Tingle earns Co-Player of the Year along with Greer Manning of West Union.

COTY - Aron FredericCoachResurrection
POTY - Cole TingleINF/PResurrectionSenior
Levi FosheePResurrectionSenior
Walter FredericINFResurrectionSenior
Max AskewOFResurrectionSenior
Luke SchnoorCResurrectionJunior

Click here to subscribe to WLOX News on YouTube: Keep up with South Mississippi news, sports, and local events on our YouTube channel!