New mayors elected across the Coast in Tuesday’s general elections

Updated: Jun. 8, 2021 at 9:04 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - The tides are changing for city leadership across the Gulf Coast. Many cities elected new mayors to office in Tuesday’s general election.

Democratic Billy Knight won the election in Moss Point in a landslide victory after his runoff in the primaries in April.

In the last municipal election, every city in Jackson County got a new mayor. Now, four years later, new faces are once again filling those seats. While the mayors for Moss Point, Pascagoula and Ocean Springs were decided in the April runoff, Gautier elected its new leader in Tuesday’s general election.

Casey Vaughan, who has long served Nature’s Playground as a city councilman, beat out incumbent Phil Torjusen to be elected mayor of Gautier.

While Darrell Berry isn’t completely new to the city of Wiggins, currently serving as interim mayor after the death of Joel Miles late last year, this is his first time being elected to the office.

With Chipper McDermott choosing not to seek reelection after 15 years in office, Jim Rafferty was elected as mayor of Pass Christian with a sweeping 75% of the vote.

Republican Jim Luke was elected mayor of Picayune Tuesday evening after incumbent Ed Pinera said he would not seek reelection late last year.

While so many new faces will be sworn in this summer, one familiar face will continue as mayor after Billy Hewes won his reelection for mayor of Gulfport.

To see all the results from Tuesday’s municipal general election, click here.

Copyright 2021 WLOX. All rights reserved.