How South Miss. legislators voted on changing state flag

Current Mississippi flag
Current Mississippi flag(WLBT)
Updated: Jun. 28, 2020 at 9:11 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JACKSON, Miss. (WLOX) - The Mississippi Senate and House of Representatives both approved on Sunday to create a commission to redesign the state flag and order the current one be brought down.

House Bill 1796 also includes the provision that the new flag cannot contain the Confederate battle emblem and says the flag must include “In God We Trust.”

The House passed House Bill 1796 with a vote of 91-23 on Sunday.

The Senate followed that vote by approving the bill with a vote of 37-14.

Below is a break down of how legislators representing South Mississippi voted for HB 1796.

Joel CarterYR49Harrison
Dennis DeBarYR43George, Greene, Wayne
Scott DeLanoYR50Harrison
Jeremy EnglandYR51Jackson
Angela Burks HillNR40Marion, Pearl River
Philip MoranYR46Hancock, Harrison
John PolkYR44Lamar, Pearl River
Joseph SeymourNR47Jackson, Pearl River, Stone
Mike ThompsonYR48Harrison
Brice WigginsYR52Harrison Jackson
Brent AndersonYR112Hancock
Jeramey AndersonYD110Jackson
Manly BartonYR109George, Jackson
Richard BennettYR120Harrison
Charles BusbyYR111Jackson
Carolyn CrawfordNR121Harrison
Casey EureYR116Harrison
Kevin FelsherYR117Harrison
Dale GoodinYR105George, Greene, Perry
Greg HaneyYR118Harrison
Timmy LanderNR93Hancock, Pearl River, Stone
Jay McKnightNR95Harrison, Hancock
Doug McLeodNR107George, Stone
Jansen OwenYR106Pearl River, Lamar
Randall PattersonYR115Harrison
John ReadYR112Jackson
Stacey Hobgood WilkesNR108Pearl River
Sonya Willaims-BarnesYD119Harrison
H.B. “Hank” Zuber IIIYR113Jackson

Rep. Jeffrey Guice, R, of District 114 representing Harrison and Jackson counties was marked as absent/not voting in the official record. To read House Bill 1796 in full, click HERE.

Copyright 2020 WLOX. All rights reserved.