2019 SEC Baseball Tournament bracket released

Updated: May. 18, 2019 at 6:22 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JACKSON, Miss. (WLBT) - The Southeastern Conference Baseball Tournament returns for a 22nd consecutive year to the Hoover Metropolitan Complex in the south-Birmingham city of Hoover, Ala., May 21-26.

According to SEC Sports, the 2019 SEC Baseball Tournament will continue to feature 12 teams and will remain set to begin on Tuesday, May 21. Seeds 5-12 will meet in a single elimination format on the opening day of the tournament, followed by traditional double-elimination play Wednesday-Friday. The tournament will return to single elimination play on Saturday. A total of 17 games will be played throughout the tournament.

The 12 teams are seeded 1-12 with the two divisional champions and top four seeds guaranteed opening-round byes, with the possibility of earning another later in the bracket. The tournament field will include the top teams from the SEC's Eastern and Western Divisions plus 10 at-large bids seeded 3-12 based on conference winning percentage.

In 2018, Ole Miss defeated LSU 9-1 in the championship game to give Ole Miss its sixth SEC Tournament title.

This year, Ole Miss will play on Tuesday May 21. They begin as the number seven seed.

Mississippi State will play on Wednesday May 22 as the number four seed.

Copyright 2019 WLBT. All rights reserved.