Mike Smith re-elected as Waveland mayor

Mike Smith re-elected as Waveland mayor

WAVELAND, MS (WLOX) - Democrat Mike Smith will continue to lead the city of Waveland for the next four years. The incumbent was re-elected as mayor in the city’s municipal elections Tuesday.

“It shows the public that me and my team need to be back in there for another four years,” Mike Smith said after the votes were counted.

Three candidates were vying for the job: Tommy Longo, Mike Smith, and Jay Trapani.

Four men were elected to the Board of Aldermen. Jeremy Burke won the Ward 1 seat. Bobby Richardson was elected to represent Ward 2, and Shane Lafontaine was elected to the Ward 3.

Charles Piazza faced a tight race with three other challengers splitting the vote. But this was a “winner-takes-all” race, and Piazza won the Ward 4 seat with just 36 percent of the vote. Competitor Sarah Clark ended the night just 14 votes shy of Piazza.

Polls were open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the city’s main fire station on Coleman Avenue.

Before the election, WLOX reporter Doug Walker spoke with some residents about key issues they believe are facing the Waveland community and what they hope to see addressed from city leaders.

Visit here for the unofficial results.

Copyright 2018 WLOX. All rights reserved.