Gulfport Mayor Angry Over Votes For New Commission

GULFPORT (WLOX) -- There is more controversy in Gulfport over the city's newly created, development commission.

Mayor Brent Warr came to the council meeting with five names of people he says would make good commissioners. But not everyone on the city council agreed and they have to approve the appointment of all commissioners. At times the meeting turned ugly.

"It was a personal agenda and it's absolutely unacceptable,"said Gulfport Mayor Brent Warr.

It was an angry Bent Warr who addressed council members. Angry because when council voted on his first appointee, well known Gulfport businessman George Schloegel, the vote was three to three. That meant he was one vote short of being appointed. Council member Brain Carrierre did not vote. He chose to abstain. The mayor didn't like that and he made that very clear.

"It's unacceptable, that's irresponsible for the residents of the city of Gulfport. And it should not be stood for or tolerated," Warr said.

Councilwoman Barbara Nalley, a frequent critic of the mayor, was one of the three council members who opposed appointing Schloegel.

"I don't feel comfortable with Mr. Schloegel serving on this board. I feel that there is a conflict. That's my personal opinion. I'm entitled to have that," Nalley said.

"I think it's irresponsible and I think it's playing games. It's nothing good that I can say about it," the mayor said.

Mayor Warr became furious when Carrier not only abstained from the Schloegel vote but from three others. The mayor says it's a personal agenda.

Carriere insists that's not the case.

"That's exactly what was being portrayed here and that my full intention was not to block anything. My intension was to give myself enough time to be comfortable with voting in the positive because I'm just this vote," said Carriere.

In the end council did agree to approve three of the mayors appointees. That means there are still two vacant seats on the development commission.

The appointees who were selected to be a part of the development commission are Carol Lynne Meadows, Don Mason and E.J. Roberts.

The mayor says he hopes to have two new appointees for the development commission by the next council meeting.

That meeting will be Tuesday, July 8.