Walby Nabs All ECHL First Team Honors

PRINCETON, N.J. - The East Coast Hockey League announced the 2001-02 postseason All-ECHL teams as determined in a vote of ECHL Coaches. Mississippi right wing Steffon Walby was named to the All-ECHL First Team, becoming the first Sea Wolves' player in team history to earn First-Team All-ECHL honors. Walby ranks second in the ECHL with 42 goals and third in scoring with 93 points, both franchise records. All-ECHL First Team G Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators RW Steffon Walby, Mississippi Sea Wolves Rick Kowalsky, Roanoke Express C Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots LW Brandon Dietrich, Charlotte Checkers D Duncan Dalmao, Roanoke Express D Bill McCauley, Dayton Bombers All-ECHL Second Team G Dan Murphy, Trenton Titans RW Greg Pankewicz, Pensacola Ice Pilots C Dave Seitz, South Carolina Stingrays LW Dave Duerden, Charlotte Checkers D Justin Harney, Charlotte Checkers D Simon Tremblay, Greenville Grrrowl The first team includes two right wings because Walby and Roanoke's Rick Kowalsky both received the same number of votes. Each player is making their inaugural appearance on an All-ECHL team. "What a great honor. It's a tremendous pat on the back for working hard all season," said Mississippi team captain and assistant coach Walby. "This award represents a total team effort. It's awesome." "It's well deserved. Steffon has been a big factor in our success," said Sea Wolves' Coach Bob Woods. "Walby took the league by fire and is an exciting player to watch." Walby and the Sea Wolves open the 2002 Kelly Cup Playoffs Southwest Division Semifinals at home against the Pensacola Ice Pilots. Game one of the best-of-five series is Wednesday at 7:05 p.m. at the Mississippi Coast Coliseum. Game two is Friday at 7:35 p.m. at the Wolves Den.