Tuesday Election Results

Folks in south Mississippi went to the polls today to fill several positions. In Hancock County, there's a run-off in the Justice Court Judge-East seat. Harry B. Ward will face Ricky Adam November 20th. There's also a run-off in the Constable-East position. Phillip Pavolini will face Don Watson in that race. Also, residents voted "against" a binding referendum to establish building and electrical codes for unincorporated areas.

Two school board seats were filled in Jackson County. Kenneth Fountain ran unopposed in the School Board District 3 seat. He wins with 41 votes. In District 4, Randal B. Turner beat two other candidates with 185-votes. In a special election, John Schrink is the new Gautier Utility District Commissioner, with 74 votes.

In Stone County, there was a special election to fill the Superintendent of Education spot to replace Henry Rath, who retired in June. There will be a run-off between James Morrison, with 967 votes and Dean Belton, with 690-votes. Again, the run-off election is November 20th.

In Pearl River County races, there will be a run off between Gary Beech and Adrian Lumpkin, Jr. November 20th for the tax collector-assessor's seat. The new superintendent of Education is Dennis Earl Penton. He won with 1, 322 votes. Michelle Boyd was elected to the Pearl River Central School Board in District 3. And Billy Spence takes the seat for the School Board in District 4.