WLOX Wins Edward R. Murrow Award

The Radio-Television News Directors Association announces the winners of the 2006 Edward R. Murrow Awards, honoring excellence in electronic journalism.

Hurricane Katrina coverage was singled out for awards to several local stations in the Gulf area including WWL-TV, WWL-AM and WLOX-TV.

Networks too were honored for their coverage of the storm and its aftermath. In the television network category, NBC News won six awards, including one for overall excellence. Other television network winners included CNN and ESPN with two awards each. ABC News, Univision and CTV each won one.

In the radio network category, CBS Radio News and ABC News Radio led the way with four awards each. In all, 55 news organizations won 80 awards out of an initial pool of 3,723 entries from 568 news organizations.

To earn an Overall Excellence award, a station or network must consistently demonstrate depth and scope in its coverage.

Overall Excellence award winners are:

  • NBC News (network television)
  • KING-TV, Seattle (large-market television)
  • KATV, Little Rock, AR (small-market television)
  • ABC News Radio (network radio)
  • KCBS-AM, Los Angeles (large-market radio)
  • WATD-FM, Marshfield, MA (small-market radio)

Several local stations won multiple awards. They are:

  • KCBS-AM, Los Angeles (overall excellence, use of sound, website, writing)
  • WWL-AM, New Orleans (newscast, continuing coverage, investigative reporting)
  • KIRO-AM, Seattle (hard news feature, news series, sports reporting)
  • KARE-TV, Minneapolis (sports reporting, writing)
  • KHOU-TV, Houston (investigative reporting, hard news feature)
  • WMSI-FM/WQJQ-FM, Jackson, MS (hard news feature, use of sound)
  • WTOP Radio, Washington, (feature reporting, spot news coverage)

The awards will be presented at the RTNDA Awards Dinner on October 16, 2006, in New York.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

RTNDA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTNDA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.