Eudora Welty Honors

Some awards and honors presented to Eudora Welty.

  • Guggenheim Award 1942
  • O. Henry Award 1942, 1943, 1968
  • National Institute of Arts and Letters 1944
  • Grants in literature 1972
  • Gold Medal for fiction writing
  • William Dean Howells Medal from American Academy of Arts and Letters for ``The Ponder Heart'' 1955
  • Edward McDowell Medal 1970
  • National Book Award for fiction (``Losing Battles'') 1971
  • Christopher Book Award for ``One Time, One Place: Mississippi in the Depression; A Snapshot'' 1972
  • Pulitzer Prize in fiction for ``The Optimist's Daughter'' 1973
  • National Medal for Literature 1980 American Book Award for ``The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty'' 1961 and ``One Writer's Beginnings'' 1984
  • Common Wealth Awards for Distinguished Service in Literature from Modern Language Association of America 1984
  • National Book Critics Circle Award and Los Angles Times Book Prize nominations for ``One Writer's Beginnings'' 1984
  • National Medal of Arts 1987
  • French Legion of Honor-(highest civilian honor) 1996
  • First living writer ever to be included in the prestigious Library of America series, 1999

The Library of America released two volumes of works by Welty: Eudora Welty: Complete Novels and Eudora Welty: Stories, Essays, and Memoir.