Polls close and the vote count begins

Polls close and the vote count begins
Tuesday, June 5, Mississippians will vote in the congressional primary. Polls open at 7am and close at 7pm. (Photo source: WLOX)

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - The polls are now closed across Mississippi and the votes are being tallied. As soon as results begin coming in, you'll be able to see them on WLOX.com and our free WLOX News app. Here's a direct link to our elections results page: https://bit.ly/2quQlUt

Democrats had the most choices today with six candidates on the ballot for Senate: David Baria, Jensen Bohren, Jerone Garland, Victor D. Maurice Jr, Omeria Scott, and Howard Sherman.

Only one Democrat appeared on the ballot running for Representative of the 4th Congressional District: Jeramey Anderson.

Republicans were able to choose between two candidates for Senate: Richard Warren Boyanton and Roger F. Wicker.

Two Republicans were also on the ballot for Representative of the 4th Congressional District: Steven Palazzo and E. Brian Rose.

Mississippi's second Senate seat is also up for grabs, but that race was not on Tuesday's primary ballot. Governor Bryant appointed Cindy Hyde-Smith to temporarily fill the seat vacated by Thad Cochran. But a special election November 6 - without party labels - will determine who will serve the remainder of Cochran's term. If a runoff is needed for that race, it will be held November 27.

Copyright 2018 WLOX. All rights reserved.