Jackson County Releases Names Of Nine Victims - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi


Jackson County Releases Names Of Nine Victims

Officials on Friday said there are now 156 confirmed deaths from Hurricane Katrina in south Mississippi. Here's how the number break down:

Hancock County: 45
Harrison County: 83
Jackson County: 10
Pearl River County: 17
Stone County: 1
George County: 0

Jackson County is the only county releasing any names at this point. They are as follows:

  • Lee Esther Brantly, 77 of St. Martin
  • Malcolm Blackwood, mid 50s of Pascagoula
  • Janet Lynn, 92 of Ocean Springs
  • James Hyre, 83 & his wife Shamsi Hyre, 75 both of Ocean Springs
  • Linda Allen deSilvey, 57 and her daughter Donna deSilvey, 35
  • Nadine Allen Gifford, 79 and her husband Edward "Ted" Gifford, 79

No other names will be released until the victims' families are notified.

Powered by Frankly