LIST: Storm shelters open, residents urged to evacuate

LIST: Storm shelters open, residents urged to evacuate

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Storm shelters on the coast are preparing to open as emergency management officials plan for the potential impact of Nate.

Five shelters are open in Harrison County:

  • D'Iberville High School
  • Saucier Lizana Shelter
  • West Harrison Shelter
  • County Farm Road
  • Lobouy Rd. Shelter
  • West Harrison High School

Three shelters in Jackson County:

  • Central Jackson County Shelter; 5500 Ballpark Rd., Vancleave
  • West Jackson County Shelter; 13000 Walker Rd., St. Martin
  • East Jackson County Shelter; 18413 Hwy. 613, Hurley
  • Jackson County Animal Shelter will be staged at each shelter to board animals for evacuees only. Pets must be in their own carrier.

Two shelters are open in Hancock County:

  • Kiln Shelter, 18320 Hwy. 43, opening at 7 a.m.
  • Leetown Shelter, 28290 Leetown Rd, opening at 10 a.m.

Two shelters are open in George County:

  • Benndale Storm Shelter; 5207 Hwy. 26
  • Agricola Storm Shelter; 3161 Cooks Corner Rd.

One shelter is open in Stone County:

  • Stone Elementary School in Wiggins

Anyone seeking shelter at these locations should bring prescription medication, eyeglasses, sleeping gear, baby/infant items, and a change of clothes. Pets will not be allowed.

There's still time to sign up for free rides to hurricane shelters in Harrison County. Coast Transit Authority will provide rides to shelters for those residents without transportation, but you have to register with CTA by calling (228) 896-8080 between 8am and 5pm Saturday.

CTA is also adjusting service due to Hurricane Nate. Regular bus routes will run until 2:30pm Saturday. There will not be any fixed bus route service on Sunday. CTA will resume all regularly scheduled bus service on Monday, October 9.

Copyright 2017 WLOX. All Rights Reserved.