Shooting fireworks banned in several coast cities

Shooting fireworks banned in several coast cities

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - For many, blasting off fireworks is a tradition when it comes to celebrating Independence Day, but many cities on the coast have ordinances banning the boom in city limits.

STAY SAFE: Fireworks safety checklist

Shooting fireworks is banned in Biloxi, Gulfport, D'Iberville, Long Beach, Ocean Springs, Pass Christian, and Diamondhead city limits.

You can shoot fireworks inside city limits in Waveland and Bay St. Louis, but disturbing the peace ordinances will be enforced. Those usually take effect after midnight.

Fireworks are OK in county patrolled areas, including the beachfront in Harrison County.

2017 Fireworks Shows on the Mississippi Gulf Coast

Biloxi and Gulfport have laid out "fireworks-free zones" on parts of their beaches. Biloxi's mile-long zone extends from Oak St. to the small craft harbor. Gulfport's zone stretches from 15th St. to Hwy. 49.

Copyright 2017 WLOX. All rights reserved.