12 charged after alleged illegal distribution of opioids

12 charged after alleged illegal distribution of opioids

HARRISON COUNTY, MS (WLOX) - Twelve people have been charged with felony prescription fraud and illegally distributing opioids in Harrison County.

The 42-count federal indictment alleged that as early as 2014, and continuing into early 2016, the defendants illegally supplied drugs such as oxycodone, hydrocodone, amphetamine/dextroamphetamine, alprazolam and klonopin.

Portions of the indictment remained sealed, so details of how the prescription fraud took place are not documented in public court records.

Named in the indictment are: Nikita Marie Piernas, Andrea Reene Opoku, Tyrone Leonard Thomas Jr., Beverly Ann Clayton, Thomas Luther Davis,James Thomas Davis III, Cauricia Williams, Thomas Elliott Williams, Brittany Jalisa Payne, Terry Oneal Grant,Kayla Tiara Caldwell, and Marcus Deshawn Price.

Each faces multiple counts, including conspiracy to distribute/dispense a controlled substance outside the scope of professional practice and possession of controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, and deception or subterfuge.

All 12 appeared before Federal Magistrate Judge John C. Gargiulo on Thursday. Grant and Price are in the custody of the U.S. Marshals, and will have detention hearings Monday, July 3.

Bond was set at $25,000 for Piernas, Opoku, Thomas, Jr., Thomas Luther Davis, James Thomas Davis III, Thomas Elliott Williams, Payne and Caldwell.

Copyright 2017 WLOX. All Rights Reserved.