Mississippi State offensive lineman Justin Senior wins the Kent Hull Trophy

Mississippi State offensive lineman Justin Senior wins the Kent Hull Trophy

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - The Kent Hull Trophy is named after the former Mississippii State legend who played in three Pro Bowls, four Super Bowls and who became one of the most respected lineman and leaders in the NFL.

On Tuesday the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced that the 2016 Kent Hull Trophy was awarded to Mississippi State offensive lineman Justin Senior, a 6'5",305 pound senior.

"It's an honor to accept this award, especially since it's named after Mr. Kent Hull, "Senior said.  "Mr. Hull was a legend here at Mississippi State and those who play here know of his legacy and what this award means.  I will try my best to live up to the values that he stood for.  I would like to thank all my coaches, especially Coach Mullen and Coach Hevesy as well as the Hull family for this tremendous honor."

Senior is a three-year starter and a catalyst for one of the winningest senior classes in MSU history.  He has played in 47 career games with a team-best 37 starts, 36 at right tackle and one at left tackle.

MSU co-offensive coordinator and offensive line coach John Hevesy said, "Justin has epitomized what Mississippi State football is about through hard work and dedication.  He's been with us for five years and developed both on and off the field.  He's already earned his degree, and he's been a leader on our offensive line at right tackle for us since 2014."

He has started 16 games in 2016.  He has 27 knockdowns in 877 snaps and has anchored a Bulldog line that has allowed the third-fewest sacks in the Southeastern Conference.  Senior has plowed open running lanes that has Mississippi State rushing for 212.8 yards per game.

Senior has also excelled off the playing field.  He earned his undergraduate degree in sociology in the summer of 2015 and is currently pursuing a second degree in political science.  The Montreal, Quebec native is a three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and is one of only two Canadians playing in SEC football this season.

MSU head coach Dan Mullen said, "Justin had a unique journey to Mississippi State from Canada, and we are proud of what he has accomplished both on and off the field in his five years.  His leadership on our offensive line has been invaluable.  He's going to be successful in whatever path he chooses after football."

The Kent Hull Trophy was first awarded in 2013 and MSU offensive lineman Gabe Jackson of Mississipp State claimed the honor that season.  Jackson is now playing with the Oakland Raiders.

Senior will be formally presented with the Kent Hull Trophy at the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet on November 29 at Clarksdale Country Club.  Senior wide receiver Fred Ross is MSU's candidate for the Conerly Trophy.

Copyright 2016 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.