MSU Bulldogs claim All-SEC Honors including head coach John Cohe - - The News for South Mississippi

MSU Bulldogs claim All-SEC Honors including head coach John Cohen


John Cohen guided Mississippi State to the 2016 SEC regular season title and he was recognized by the SEC on Monday, named Coach of the Year.  That's the first time in 27 years that the Bulldogs claimed the SEC regular season championship.

Cohen became the fourth Bulldog skipper to earn SEC Coach of the Year honors and the first since Ron Polk won the honor in 1989.  Cohen also captured the SEC Coach of the Year Award in 2006 when he was at Kentucky.  He joins Polk as only the second coach in conference history to earn the award with two different programs.

Mississippi State outfielder Jake Mangum was named SEC Freshman of the Year.  The Pearl, Mississippi native currently leads the SEC with a .427 batting average, which ranks third nationally and first in the NCAA amongst freshmen.

Mangum, who also won the C Spire Ferris Trophy as the best college baseball player in the state, became the first freshman to be named to the All-SEC First Team since Rafael Palmeiro in 1983 and the first rookie to be named to either the First Team or Second Team All-SEC since Jay Powell in 1991.

RHP Dakota Hudson landed on the first team.  He's thrown 101 strikeouts in 98.1 innings of work and has allowed only 32 runs (25 earned).  Hudson has thrown back-to-back complete game shutouts, surrendering only one earned run in the last 26.1 innings of work.

First baseman Nathaniel Lowe and designated hitter Jack Kruger also were named to the All-SEC First Team.  Brent Rooker was named to the All-SEC Second Team.  He's a redshirt sophomore.

Mississippi State opens the 2016 SEC Tournament in Hoover, Alabama 4:30 p.m. Wednesday playing either Alabama or Kentucky.  The Tide and Wildcats battle 4:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Copyright 2016 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly