Jake Mangum of MSU wins 2016 C Spire Ferris Trophy

Jake Mangum of MSU wins 2016 C Spire Ferris Trophy

CLEVELAND, MS (WLOX) - The 2016 C Spire Ferris Trophy was awarded to MSU outfielder Jake Mangum who became the first freshman to take home the award it its 12-year history.

The award is presented annually to the top collegiate baseball player in Mississippii.

Mangum becomes the fifth Mississippi State player to win the award.  The Pearl, Mississippi native led the SEC in batting average with a .427 clip which ranks third in the NCAA and is first among freshmen in the entire country.

Mangum  said, "There are so many people in the state of Mississippi who deserve this.  Mississipp baseball is what it is because of people like Boo Ferris, and we thank you for that."

The trophy is named after former Mississippi State and Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame pitcher Dave "Boo" Ferris.

Mangum was one of four finalists for the award, including teammates junior pitcher Dakota Hudson and Junior outfielder/pitcher Reid Humphreys.  Other finalists included J.B. Woodman of Ole Miss and Will Robertson of Delta State.

Mangum and his Bulldog teammates open the SEC Baseball Tournament on Wednesday.  Mississippi State is the No. 1 seed after winning the SEC regular season title, the first-time in 27 years that MSU captured the regular season championship.

Copyright 2016 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.