12 South MS teachers receive Leo Seal Grants

12 South MS teachers receive Leo Seal Grants

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Twelve South Mississippi teachers were honored Wednesday morning for using innovation in the classroom.

The teachers received prestigious Leo W. Seal Innovative Teacher Grants to help pay for projects that will bring school subjects to life and mold students into well-rounded adults. Each winner earned up to $2,000 in grant money.

"Devoted teachers across our state work tirelessly every day to build the academic foundations and help reinforce the character our children need to be productive, successful citizens," said Hancock Bank Mississippi Regional President Keith Williams. "We at Hancock Bank are honored and proud to recognize these extraordinary educators for their dedication and resourcefulness in helping students not only learn but also experience what they learn. To these and other committed teachers everywhere, we say from our hearts, thank you."

This year's Leo W. Seal Innovative Teacher Grants recipients include Amy Ashley, Our Lady Academy, Bay St. Louis; Michele Brasher, Trent Lott Academy, Pascagoula;  Billy Carroll, Moss Point Career and Technical Education; Terese Evans, St. James Catholic School, Gulfport; Keene Golding, Hancock High School, Kiln; Leigh Hanna, Pascagoula High School; Kim Jordan, College Park Elementary School, Gautier;Daniel Munger, Saint Stanislaus College, Bay St. Louis; Tania Tellier-Brooks, Gulfport High School; Alicia Verweij, Roseland Park Elementary School, Picayune; and, working together on one project, Jane Bunn of Pass Christian Elementary School and Lori Fisher of Pass Christian Middle School.

The grants are funded by Hancock Bank. This is the 20th year the bank, in partnership with the Gulf Coast Community Foundation, has honored teachers with the awards.

Copyright 2016 WLOX. All rights reserved.