Gov. Bryant requests expanded disaster declaration

Gov. Bryant requests expanded disaster declaration

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - Eleven more flood ravaged counties could be added to Mississippi's recent disaster declaration. Gov. Phil Bryant has requested the federal government to add Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties as major disaster areas.

Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties were designated for FEMA's Individual Assistance Program on March 25.

Flood waters continue to affect some areas of the state, so MEMA/FEMA joint damage assessment teams are unable to reach some locations. But the damage assessments will continue and additional counties may still be requested.

If the disaster declaration request is approved, individuals, households and business owners will be able to utilize federal aid to help with recovery from the flooding and severe storms that affected Mississippi in March.

Initial estimates showed more than 650 homes in Mississippi sustained major damage or were destroyed as a result of the flooding. Several state agencies, along with numerous nonprofit and faith-based organizations have been assisting with recovery since the storms began.

Copyright 2016 WLOX. All rights reserved.