2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic adds inaugural champion Dav - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi

2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic adds inaugural champion David Eger to the field


The 2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort classic Presented by C Spire boasts one of the strongest fields ever.  2015  champion David Frost is back, ready to defend his title against some of the best players in the world at Fallen Oak.

David Eger, the inaugural champion, has joined the field as a sponsor exemption. Eger won the 2010 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic.  He no longer competes full time on the PGA Tour Champions.

Brad Bryant withdrew from the field, moving Grant Waite into the field from the alternate list.  Waite had previously been announced as a sponsor exemption, which Eger accepted on Monday.

Defending champion David Frost made a clutch six-foot par putt on the final green to win the 2015 PGA Tour Champion event. He held off Tom Lehman and Kevin Sutherland to finish with a 10-under 206 total and overcame a one-sot penalty on the 17th hole.

The PGA Tour Champion field has solid golfers competing each and every week.

"The thing about the PGA Tour Champions is everyone has won before, "Frost said.  "They're not scared of winning. So, so what if he doesn't win now, he's won before. Great depth in the field, great players out here.  Everyone can make a birdie, everyone can hit a good shot coming down the stretch.  So, you've got your work cut out for you to win on the tour."

Former champions Jeff Maggert and Michael Allen are set to compete with the first round beginning Friday morning.  World Golf Hall of Fame members Tome Kite, Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie and Larry Nelson are all back ready to compete at Fallen Oak.

Tickets are $15 and are on sale now.

Copyright 2016 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly