2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic is the strongest field ever

2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic is the strongest field ever

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - The 2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic will have five World Golf Hall of Famers, 19 PGA Tour Champions  Tour major winners and 11 PGA Tour major championship winners competing at Fallen Oak from April 1-3.

It's considered the strongest field ever at Fallen Oak.  2015 champion David Frost will defend his title, facing some of the best players in the world, including former Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic champions Jeff Maggert, Michael Allen and Fred Couples.

The 19 PGA Tour Champions major winners have 37 major wins on the tour, highlighted by Couples and fellow World Golf Hall of Fame members Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie and Larry Nelson.

27 of the top 30 on the current Charles Schwab Cup Money List leaders will be in that number.  The list includes sponsor exemptions Roger Chapman, Mike Goodes, Blaine McCallister, Gary Hallberg and Grant Waite.

Roger Chapman of England is a two-time PGA Tour Champions major winner.  He captured the 2012 U.S. Senior Open and the 2012 Senior PGA Championship.

Mike Goodes, a North Carolina graduate, turned professional in 2007 and won the 2009 Allianz Championship.  He's also a two-time North Carolina State Amateur Champion, winning in 1989 and 2006.

Blaine McCallister has five career PGA Tour victories since turning pro in 1981.  The Fort Stockton, Texas native was a roommate of Fred Couple and Jim Nantz when all three attended the University of Houston.

1979 NCAA Individual Champion, Gary Hallberg has nine career victories.

Here's the 2016 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic field:

Allen, Michael

Andrade, Billy

Armour III, Tommy

Austin, Woody

Blake, Jay Don

Brooks, Mark

Browne, Olin

Bryant, Bart

Bryant, Brad

Byrum, Tom

Calcavecchia, Mark

Chapman, Roger

Coceres, Jose

Cochran, Russ

Cook, John

Couples, Fred

Dawson, Marco

Day, Glen

Dunlap, Scott

Durant, Joe

Faxon, Brad

Forsman, Dan

Franco, Carlos

Frost, David

Funk, Fred

Garwood, Doug

Gilder, Bob

Goodes, Mike

Goydos, Paul

Grob, Mike

Haas, Jay

Hallberg, Gary

Hamilton, Todd

Hoch, Scott

Huston, John

Janzen, Lee

Jimenez, Miguel Angel

Jobe, Brandt

Kite, Tom

Langer, Bernhard

Lowery, Steve

Maggert, Jeff

McCallister, Blaine

McCarron, Scott

Mediate, Rocco

Montgomerie, Colin

Nelson, Larry

Parnevik, Jesper

Parry, Craig

Pate, Steve

Pavin, Corey

Pernice Jr., Tom

Perry, Kenny

Purtzer, Tom

Roberts, Loren

Sauers, Gene

Senior, Peter

Short, Jr., Wes

Simpson, Scott

Sindelar, Joey

Sluman, Jeff

Smith, Jerry

Spittle, Rod

Springer, Mike

Sutherland, Kevin

Thorpe, Jim

Toledo, Esteban

Triplett, Kirk

Tway, Bob

Verplank, Scott

Wadkins, Bobby

Waite, Grant

Waldorf, Duffy

Wiebe, Mark

Wood, Willie

Copyright 2016 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.