Coast senators appointed to leadership posts

Coast senators appointed to leadership posts

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - Senators from the Gulf Coast will take key leadership roles in the Senate with committee assignments announced Monday by Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves.

"The Gulf Coast is vitally important to Mississippi's economy, and I believe the region's senators should have a major role in shaping that economic growth," Lt. Gov. Reeves said.

Leadership positions announced include:

  • Sen. Tommy Gollott will serve as chairman of the Ports and Marine Resources Committee, which handles issues related to ports throughout the state, the Department of Marine Resources and other issues important to the coastal economy. Gollott, R-Biloxi, represents District 50 in Harrison County.
  • Sen. Philip Moran will serve as chairman of the Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Committee, which covers issues related to hunting, fishing and management of the state’s resources. Moran, R-Kiln, represents District 46, which includes Hancock and Harrison counties.
  • Sen. Sean Tindell will serve as chairman of the Judiciary A Committee, which often addresses matters of civil and contract law. Tindell, R-Gulfport, represents District 49 in Harrison County.
  • Sen. Michael Watson will be chairman of the Environmental Protection, Conservation and Water Resources Committee, which often manages issues related to protecting the state’s natural resources. Watson, R-Pascagoula, represents District 51 in Jackson County.
  • Sen. Brice Wiggins will be chairman of the newly created Medicaid Committee, which will address matters related to the federal-state health insurance program that covers about a quarter of Mississippians. Wiggins, R-Pascagoula, represents District 52 in Jackson County.
  • Sen. Debbie Dawkins will serve again as chairwoman of the Libraries Committee, which reviews state library matters. Dawkins, D-Harrison, represents District 48 in Harrison County.

Copyright 2016 WLOX. All rights reserved.