Dak Prescott Wins 20th Annual Conerly Trophy - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi

Dak Prescott Wins 20th Annual Conerly Trophy


The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced Tuesday night in Jackson that Dak Prescott was the winner of the 20th annual C Spire Conerly Trophy.  He becomes the first player in the history of the award to win in consecutive seasons.

"I am humbled to be named the winner of this year's Conerly Trophy, "Prescott said.  "This trophy represents the hard work and dedication of my teammates, coaches and people around me. I am grateful for them."

The Conerly Trophy selects the best college football player in Mississippi.  Prescott was the only player in the Southeastern Conference to lead his team in both passing and rushing yards.  Dak had 3,413 yards passing and rushed for 541 yards.

The Haughton, Louisiana native established a new single-season school record for completion percentage of 66.9. He held the previous record of 61.6 percent in 2014. He also set a new school record with 284.4 yards per game, surpassing his 2014 record of 265.3 yards.

It's the first time in the 20 years of the Conerly Trophy that one school has won the trophy in three straight years.  Bulldogs offensive lineman Gabe Jackson captured the 2013 Conerly Trophy.  Jackson is now a member of the Oakland Raiders.

Prescott becomes only the second player to ever claim the trophy twice.  Eli Manning won the Conerly Trophy as a member of the Ole Miss Rebels in 2001 and 2003.

Copyright 2015 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly