Multiple runoff races begin across South Mississippi

Multiple runoff races begin across South Mississippi


Multiple primary runoff races across South Mississippi on Tuesday, August 25.

The Republican Primary is being held for Public Service Commission, with Sam Britton and Tony Smith facing each other in the runoff. The winner of Tuesday's election will face Democrat Tom Blanton and Reform Candidate Lonny Spence in the November general election. The incumbent, Steve Renfroe, did not run.

Voters in Stone, parts of Pearl River and Jackson Counties have a runoff in the GOP primary for State Senate Seat 47 between Mike Seymour and Mike Tyson. The winner will face Jimmy Bo Alawine in the general election.

In Harrison County Tuesday's Republican Party primary runoff will determine who will be sheriff, as there is no opposition in November. Incumbent Melvin Brisolara and Troy Peterson are the two candidates.

Also in Harrison County, two political newcomers face off in the District 4 supervisor's race. Kent Jones worked as a safety officer for District 4 before deciding to run for supervisor. Chris Fisher is a lawyer who worked as an assistant District Attorney in Harrison County. The two men received the most votes among 10 Democratic candidates in the primary election.

In Jackson County, there are three supervisors races. In District 1, voters will choose between incumbent Barry Cumbest and Sabrina Smith. In District 4, incumbent Troy Ross and former supervisor Tommy Brodnax are both battling for the seat. In District 3, Ken Taylor and Michael Whitmore are in a runoff.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, and WLOX news will have complete coverage of the runoff elections as the numbers are available. Details will be available on and WLOX News at 10.

Copyright 2015 WLOX. All rights reserved.