MSU Bulldogs are named to the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award W - - The News for South Mississippi

MSU Bulldogs are named to the Maxwell Award and Bednarik Award Watch List


Mississippi State's football success in 2015 will fall on the shoulders and feet of senior quarterback Dak Prescott.  He's a gifted athlete and was instrumental in guided coach Dan Mullen's Bulldogs to a 10-win season, first-ever in school history and a first-ever Number One national ranking.

On Tuesday, Prescott was named as one of 80 offensive players on the preseason Maxwell Award list. In 2014 Prescott was a Maxwell Award finalist, the first Bulldog to achieve that recognition.

The Haughton, Louisiana native established 12 single-season Mississippi State records and became one of only two FBS players in the last seven seasons to average 265 yards passing and 75 rushing yards per game in a season.  The other was former Texas A&M quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel in 2012.

Prescott finished eighth in Heisman Trophy voting in 2014 and is the top returning quarterback in the Southeastern Conference in career rushing and passing touchdowns as well as career rushing and passing yards leader.

Dak should join Tim Tebow as the only two SEC players in history to rush for 40 touchdowns and throw for 40 touchdowns in a career.  He needs nine rushing touchdowns this season to reach that goal.

On the defensive side of the football, senior defensive back Will Redmond and junior defensive lineman Chris Jones were placed on the watch list for the 21st annual Chuck Bednarik Award honoring the top defensive player in college football.

Redmond piled up 51 tackles with 3.0 tackles for a loss and three interceptions in 2014.  

Jones made 26 tackles with 3.5 tackles for a loss as a sophomore last season.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell will be announced November 23, 2015 and the three finalists for the Bednarik Award will be unveiled on November 23, 2015.

Copyright 2015 WLOX.  All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly