OPINION: NFL misinterpreted last Cowboys offensive play - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi

OPINION: NFL misinterpreted last Cowboys offensive play

UNDATED (WLOX) -

Whichever way you'd like to look at the Dallas Cowboys' 26-21 loss to the Green Bay Packers in the NFC Divisional Round game, the NFL did not properly interpret Dallas wide receiver Dez Bryant's actions during the eventual last offensive play for the Cowboys.

With 4:44 left in the fourth quarter and Green Bay leading 26-21, the Cowboys faced a 4th-and-2 situation at the Packers 32-yard line. Quarterback Tony Romo threw a deep pass to the sideline intended for the 6-foot-2 Bryant, who leaped over 5-foot-11 Packers cornerback Sam Shields and initially made the catch.

He was ruled down at the Green Bay 1-yard line, but Packers head coach Mike McCarthy challenged the ruling of a catch on the field.

After reviewing the play, referee Gene Steratore stated that Bryant did not maintain possession during the process of the catch.

In this case, the NFL determined that Bryant's actions were parallel to Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1, which states:

"Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."

While this rule was properly enforced, Bryant's actions during the play should not have been based on this item of the league's rulebook.

Instead, the play should have been judged on Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 4, which states:

"Ball Touches Ground. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control of it, it is a catch, provided that the player continues to maintain control."

Item 4 would not have applied if he had not:

a) secured control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground
b) touched the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
c) maintain control of the ball long enough after (a) and (b) had been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., control it long enough to pitch it, pass it, etc.)

But as video evidence clearly showed, Bryant (a) secured possession, (b) took three steps and (c) maintained possession long enough to dive for the endzone in an attempt to score a touchdown -- also known as performing any act common to the game.

Therefore, because he completed actions (a), (b) and (c), Item 4 should have been enforced, and not the league's decision to follow Item 1

Also, Bryant's knee and elbow touched the ground as he extended the ball to the 1-yard line. Would that not make him down by contact before the ball was considered to be moving since he made contact with Shields? 

However, even with all of this information, we should not assume that the Cowboys would actually score a touchdown after picking up a 1st-and-goal at the Green Bay 1-yard line that would have been the result of a catch by Bryant.

We also cannot assume that the Packers wouldn't drive down the field after a possible Cowboys touchdown to take the lead.

Whichever way you look at it, while Bryant and the Cowboys have a right to disagree with the NFL's interpretation of the rule, they had plenty of chances to win the game and make that critical 4th-down play irrelevant.

But the NFL also needs to realize that a glaring mistake was made.

  • SPORTSMore>>

  • World Cup fans are drinking so much beer, Russia is running low

    World Cup fans are drinking so much beer, Russia is running low

    Sunday, June 24 2018 5:08 PM EDT2018-06-24 21:08:55 GMT
    Sunday, June 24 2018 5:19 PM EDT2018-06-24 21:19:06 GMT
    Restaurants and bars in Moscow told Reuters the influx of fans have nearly drained their supply and it is taking longer than usual to restock. (Source: Pixabay)Restaurants and bars in Moscow told Reuters the influx of fans have nearly drained their supply and it is taking longer than usual to restock. (Source: Pixabay)

    One Russian waiter told Reuters their restaurant ran out of draft lager on Monday and the suppliers’ stocks are also running low.

    More >>

    One Russian waiter told Reuters their restaurant ran out of draft lager on Monday and the suppliers’ stocks are also running low.

    More >>
  • Kroos scores late to give Germany 2-1 win over Sweden

    Kroos scores late to give Germany 2-1 win over Sweden

    Saturday, June 23 2018 4:29 PM EDT2018-06-23 20:29:18 GMT
    Sunday, June 24 2018 1:29 PM EDT2018-06-24 17:29:31 GMT
    (AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell). Sweden's Viktor Claesson, left, challenges Germany's Toni Kroos during the group F match between Germany and Sweden at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Fisht Stadium in Sochi, Russia, Saturday, June 23, 2018.(AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell). Sweden's Viktor Claesson, left, challenges Germany's Toni Kroos during the group F match between Germany and Sweden at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Fisht Stadium in Sochi, Russia, Saturday, June 23, 2018.
    Toni Kroos scored in the fifth minute of stoppage time from outside the penalty area and 10-man Germany rallied to beat Sweden 2-1 to stay alive at the World Cup.More >>
    Toni Kroos scored in the fifth minute of stoppage time from outside the penalty area and 10-man Germany rallied to beat Sweden 2-1 to stay alive at the World Cup.More >>
  • The Latest: England-Panama game could decide World Cup group

    The Latest: England-Panama game could decide World Cup group

    Saturday, June 23 2018 6:46 AM EDT2018-06-23 10:46:54 GMT
    Sunday, June 24 2018 6:04 AM EDT2018-06-24 10:04:28 GMT
    (AP Photo/Felipe Dana). Brazil's Neymar, left and Thiago Silva talk to other players during Brazil's official training on the eve of the group E match between Brazil and Switzerland at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Rostov Arena in Rostov-on-Don, Rus...(AP Photo/Felipe Dana). Brazil's Neymar, left and Thiago Silva talk to other players during Brazil's official training on the eve of the group E match between Brazil and Switzerland at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Rostov Arena in Rostov-on-Don, Rus...
    Thiago Silva is upset with teammate Neymar for shouting at him during Brazil's tense 2-0 win over Costa Rica.More >>
    Thiago Silva is upset with teammate Neymar for shouting at him during Brazil's tense 2-0 win over Costa Rica.More >>
Powered by Frankly