Individual FEMA assistance denied for MS tornado victims

Individual FEMA assistance denied for MS tornado victims

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - President Barack Obama on Friday denied Mississippi's request for FEMA assistance to individuals in Jones and Marion counties who suffered damage from the Dec. 23 severe storms and tornadoes. Because of that, Gov. Phil Bryant has authorized the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency to activate the state's Temporary Disaster Housing Assistance Program.

Eight tornadoes touched down in Mississippi December 23. Five Mississippians died and 50 others were injured. In Marion County, 82 homes and 43 businesses were heavily damaged or destroyed. And in Jones County, eight homes and one business were heavily damaged or destroyed.

"While I thank the administration for providing aid to rebuild damaged public roads and facilities through the Public Assistance Program, I am disappointed with the denial of aid for individuals and families. The state is stepping in to help people recover from these deadly storms," said Gov. Bryant. "The rental assistance provided by the state program will help put Mississippians into secure housing in the short-term as they recover and rebuild."

Mississippi's Temporary Disaster Housing Assistance Program will provide eligible homeowners up to 90 days of rental assistance reimbursement and eligible renters up to 30 days of assistance.

For information about how to apply for the program, residents should contact the Jones and Marion county emergency management offices.

  • Jones County Emergency Management Agency: (601) 649-3535
  • Marion County Emergency Management Agency: (601) 736-9627

MEMA will also be working closely with volunteer organizations to help provide for storm survivors. For information on volunteering, visit the Mississippi Commission for Volunteer Services online at

Copyright 2015 WLOX. All rights reserved.