AP Names Dan Mullen Coach of the Year

STARKVILLE, MS (WLOX) - A few hours after the American Football Coaches Association named Mississippi State's Dan Mullen 2014 Region 2 Coach of the Year, the Associated Press bestowed Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year honor to the New Hampshire native.

He becomes the fourth coach in Mississippi State history to win the SEC Coach of the Year award, joining Paul Davis (1963), Charley Shira (1970) and Sylvester Croom (2007).

Mullen led the Bulldogs to 10 wins and 2 defeats and led his team from unranked to No. 1 quicker than any team in college football history, breaking 22 single-season statistical records and spending the last nine weeks inside the top-10 national rankings.

No. 7 Mississippi State will battle No. 12 Georgia Tech (10-3) at 7 p.m. on December 31 in the Capital One Orange Bowl at Sun Life Stadium in Miami.

That will be the first trip back to the Orange Bowl since the Bulldogs played Duquesne in 1937 and Georgetown in 1941.  Mississippi State beat Georgetown 14-7 and loss to Duquesne 13-12.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All Rights Reserved.