Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott wins C-Spire Conerly Trophy

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - During the 2014 season Dak Prescott was a leading candidate for the Heisman Trophy and is still expected to be on hand when the award is announced in New York City in a few weeks.

On Tuesday, Prescott won the Conerly Trophy over Ole Miss cornerback Senquez Golson of Pascagoula and Delta State quarterback Tyler Sullivan and Alcorn State quarterback John Gibbs, Jr.

Prescott netted 328 yards of total offense per game in leading Mississippi State to a 10-2 record, the first 10-win season in Bulldogs history.  Dak also totaled 37 touchdowns in 2014.

The junior from Haughton, Louisiana thanked the Mississippi State coaching staff and his teammates after receiving the Conerly Trophy.

"It's such an honor to be named the top college football player in the state, "Prescott said. "But I really have to give credit to my teammates, coaches and athletic department staff.  They've helped me grow and become a better person and football player.  That's what makes this so special."

The Kent Hull Trophy honoring Mississippi's top college offensive lineman in 2014 was given to Laremy Tunsil of Ole Miss.

Copyright WLOX 2014. All Rights Reserved.