Waveland holds its city elections today

Waveland holds its city elections today

WAVELAND, MS (WLOX) - Waveland voters return to polling places today. They will elect a new mayor to run the Hancock County city.

The candidates are Mike Smith and Jay Trapani. The winner replaces David Garcia at Waveland City Hall.

There are also four aldermen's races that must be decided today. In ward three, Shane LaFontaine is running unopposed. However, the other three aldermen's seats all have multiple candidates.

In ward one, republican Nadine Brown, democrat Bill Corr and independent Jeremy Burke face off.

In ward two, the candidates are democrat Ricky Geoffrey and republican Bobby Richardson.

In ward four, voters must choose between republican Brett Ladner, libertarian Brice Phillips and independent Charles Piazza.

The polls just opened. Once Waveland leaders tabulate the votes tonight, we'll tell you who won on WLOX.com.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved.