Palazzo downs Taylor to win 4th District Republican primary

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Steven Palazzo has been declared the winner of the Republican nomination for Mississippi's 4th Congressional District seat.

Palazzo faced four challengers in the primary including Democrat turned Republican Gene Taylor. He won the primary with little more than 50 percent of the vote.

"It has been an honor to serve South Mississippi as the Republican representative of the 4th Congressional District," Palazzo stated. "I want to thank the countless volunteers and supporters who have stood beside me since 2010. Their support is what keeps me going in the fight against the runaway liberal agenda and the culture of corruption in Washington. I will continue working to ensure Mississippi values and voices are heard loud and clear in our nation's capital."

Taylor issued a statement to the people of South Mississippi shortly after the announcement was made.

"Thanks to all the people of South Mississippi who worked so hard on my behalf. I deeply regret letting them down," said Taylor. "I am in the process of trying to reach Steven Palazzo. I tried to call him this morning and will continue in the next few days to reach him."

Palazzo will face Democratic nominee Matt Moore in the November 4 general election. Independent candidates Cindy Burleson and Ed Reich as well as Libertarian Joey Robinson and Reform Party member Eli "Sarge" Jackson will also be in the hunt for the 4th Congressional District seat.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved