WLOX News brings home 18 awards from AP banquet

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Mike Reader's dedication to our community. Jeff Lawson's dedication to telling stories from the greatest generation. Rebecca Powers' dedication to protecting children. Steve Phillips' dedication to his craft.

Saturday night, Mississippi's Associated Press board saluted Mike, Jeff, Rebecca, Steve and the WLOX staff for our commitment to South Mississippi in 2013.

WLOX News won 18 awards at Saturday's annual AP banquet, more than any other large market television station in Mississippi.

We received the best documentary award and the prestigious achievement award for our program "Reflections of Honor."

Our unforgettable reactions when the government shutdown nearly derailed an Honor Flight were judged to be the best general news story in Mississippi.

Rebecca Powers' efforts to hold the Department of Human Services accountable were judged to be the state's best public affairs reporting.

The best photography in a news story was found in a Steve Phillips piece about the replica ships Nina and Pinta visiting Biloxi.

As for Mike Reader, the Mississippi AP inducted our friend and Chief Meteorologist into its Hall of Fame. Mike becomes the seventh WLOX staffer to be named the best of the best in Mississippi broadcasting.

Congratulations to him and to everyone else on our staff.

Here is a list of all the awards WLOX News brought home from Saturday night's AP awards banquet:

Public Affairs Reporting

1st                           DHS

2nd                          Reflections of Honor

Franchise Reporting

2nd                          Action Reports


1st                           Reflections of Honor

3rd                           Halat interview


2nd                          Renee Johnson

Feature Photography

3rd                           South MS Ink (Steve Phillips)

News Photography

1st                           Nina and Pinta (Steve Phillips)

3rd                           Bridge Inspection (Steve Phillips)

General News

1st                           Govt. Shutdown and the Honor Flight (Jeff Lawson)

3rd                           Ride to Recovery (Steve Phillips)

Spot News

3rd                           Hattiesburg Tornados (Steve Phillips)

Sports Story

2nd                          Simon Roussel (Tyler Bouldin)

3rd                           MSU Bulldogs Camp (Steve Phillips)


2nd                          Tyler Bouldin


3rd                           Mike Reader


1st                           Reflections of Honor


2nd                          Staff

Hall of Fame       Mike Reader joins Dave Vincent, Jeff Lawson, Doug Walker, Bobby Allen, A.J. Giardina and Greg McNease as WLOX hall of fame members

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved