Your Week in Review: March 14 - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi

Your Week in Review: March 14

The ongoing search Malaysia Airlines Flight 370, the collapse of two buildings in Harlem and Gov. Jan Brewer's decision to not seek re-election all made headlines this week. The ongoing search Malaysia Airlines Flight 370, the collapse of two buildings in Harlem and Gov. Jan Brewer's decision to not seek re-election all made headlines this week.

(RNN) - Authorities continue to search for Malaysia Airlines Flight 370.

The plane, going from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, to Beijing, China, disappeared on March 8. The plane carried 239 passengers, two-thirds of whom were Chinese.

More than a half dozen have died after an explosion leveled two buildings in Harlem, NY. Authorities suspect a gas leak triggered the explosion.

Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer announced she will not run for re-election. Brewer succeeded Janet Napolitano in 2009 when Napolitano became the Homeland Security secretary. She won an election for a full term in 2010.

Learn more about these stories and others in this week's Raycom News in Review.

Copyright 2014 Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.

  • NEWSMore>>

  • Why we issue Alert Days

    Why we issue Alert Days

    Tuesday, May 23 2017 1:19 AM EDT2017-05-23 05:19:37 GMT
    Rain on Tuesday morning (5/23/17)Rain on Tuesday morning (5/23/17)

    When the WLOX First Alert Weather Team issues an Alert Day for South Mississippi, it is because we believe the  weather will impact your day. The current Alert Day is because of the high rainfall totals we have seen with the potential for more rain. In fact, a Flash Flood Watch is in effect through Tuesday evening.

    More >>

    When the WLOX First Alert Weather Team issues an Alert Day for South Mississippi, it is because we believe the  weather will impact your day. The current Alert Day is because of the high rainfall totals we have seen with the potential for more rain. In fact, a Flash Flood Watch is in effect through Tuesday evening.

    More >>
  • Cloe's Story: 'I was tired of being miserable. I didn't feel comfortable as a boy'

    Cloe's Story: 'I was tired of being miserable. I didn't feel comfortable as a boy'

    Tuesday, May 23 2017 12:20 AM EDT2017-05-23 04:20:06 GMT

    With her mom's support, Cloe, who was born Sidney, began her outward transition to become female. She made the decision her junior year in high school, and did it rather quickly.

    More >>

    With her mom's support, Cloe, who was born Sidney, began her outward transition to become female. She made the decision her junior year in high school, and did it rather quickly.

    More >>
  • Family of fallen service members invited to dedication of Gold Star Marker

    Family of fallen service members invited to dedication of Gold Star Marker

    Tuesday, May 23 2017 12:19 AM EDT2017-05-23 04:19:15 GMT
    Members of the Ocean Springs Garden Club standing next to the newly installed Gold Star Marker. (Photo source: Ocean Springs Garden Club)Members of the Ocean Springs Garden Club standing next to the newly installed Gold Star Marker. (Photo source: Ocean Springs Garden Club)

    If you have a family member who has died in service to our country you're invited to attend the dedication of the newly installed Gold Star Marker at the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center in Ocean Springs. 

    More >>

    If you have a family member who has died in service to our country you're invited to attend the dedication of the newly installed Gold Star Marker at the Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center in Ocean Springs. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly