Parties announce June primary candidates

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Today was the qualifying deadline for those who wanted to run in the June primaries for Mississippi's U.S. 4th Congressional District Seat and the Senate seat.

Mississippi's Republican and Democratic parties have contacted WLOX News with a final list of candidates

In the Republican race for the House of Representatives, incumbent Steven Palazzo will square off with Ron Vincent, Tom Carter, Tavish Kelly and, as we reported yesterday, former Democratic Congressman Gene Taylor.

The Democratic candidates for the Congressional seat are Trish Causey and Matt Moore. Moore ran and lost against Palazzo the last time the seat came up.

Incumbent Senator Thad Cochran will face Republican challengers Thomas Carey and Mississippi Congressman Chris McDaniel.

On the Democratic side, former U.S. Congressman Travis Childers, William Bond Compton, Jr., Bill Marcy and Jonathan Rawl will all compete for the nomination for Senate.

The primaries will be held on June 3, and the nominees will square off in the general election on November 4.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved.