Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic defending champion Michael Allen wants another trophy

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - Tournament Director Steve Nieman says this year's field should have the Top 30 on the Champions Tour Money List, with Nick Faldo and Colin Montgomerie expected to compete in the $1.6 million event. Seven "World Golf" Hall of Famers and seventeen major championship winners will be gunning for the $240,000 first place check, including defending champion Michael Allen.

"This course and this tournament has been great to me,"stated Allen. "I finished second the year before and Fred Couples made a putt to beat me on the last hole. This is a fun place to play. Number one you've got the Beau Rivage, that's where I always stay, its treats us just great. To come out here... the facilities are just fantastic."

Nieman said the field is highlighted by 2013 Champions Tour Player of the Year Kenny Perry.  Bernhard Langer, the 2013 leading money winner will be in the field of 81 along with 2013 Rookie of the Year Rocco Mediate.

Other big names slated to vie for the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic championship include Tom Kite, Sandy Lykle, Larry Nelson and Nick Price.

Michael Allen summed up the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic by saying,"It's a great place, it's a great course, it's one of the best courses we play on the tour all year."

Here's a list of events scheduled for the week:

*Junior Clinic presented by Bacot/McCarty Foundation at Shell Landing 7:00 p.m. on March 19

*C Spire Pro-Am, Fallen Oak beginning at 7:30 a.m. on March 20

*First Round of the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire, Fallen Oak  on March 21(Gates open at 9:00 a.m.)

*Second Round, Fallen Oak (Gates open at 7:00 a.m.) on March 22

*Final Round, Fallen Oak (Gates open at 7:00 a.m.) on March 23

*Awards Presentation on the 18th green

Tickets are $15 and can be purchased online at www.2014MGRC.com or call the tournament office at 228-896-6365.  Children 15 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

Copyright 2014 WLOX. All rights reserved.