MS Governor declares State of Emergency for 36 counties - - The News for South Mississippi

MS Governor declares State of Emergency for 36 counties

PEARL, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant has declared a State of Emergency for 36 southern counties. The declaration allows resources to be deployed, if needed, when the winter storm hits the state.

The counties are: Adams. Amite, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George. Greene, Hancock. Harrison, Hinds, Jackson. Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jasper, Jones, Lamar. Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Newton, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Warren, Wayne, and Wilkinson counties.

Mississippi Highway Patrol plans to have an additional 20 troopers will be sent to the southern part of the state ahead of the storm.

The Mississippi Department of Transportation has already started work to pre-treat highways, interstates and bridges. The coast used up most available resources last weekend when the area experienced an ice event. MDOT is fueling trucks and getting snow plow trucks ready to be put on stand-by. They will add salt and sand to slick bridges, as needed.

MEMA is warning people who live in the southern counties to prepare before the storm comes in. The event is considered unprecedented for the coastal region.

The latest First Alert weather forecast says sleet, snow and an extended period of bitter cold.

Many schools in the southern part of the state have already announced they'll be closed Tuesday. MEMA is advising districts to seek advice from their local emergency management directors as they make those decisions.

Copyright 2014 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.


Powered by Frankly