Ole Miss, MSU, LSU bowl games decided

UNDATED (AP) - No. 14 LSU has been selected to face Iowa in the Outback Bowl on New Year's Day.

The Tigers (9-4) are making their first trip to Tampa for postseason action since 1989, when the game called the Hall of Fame Bowl.

Iowa (8-4) will be making its fourth appearance in the Outback. The Hawkeyes last appeared following the 2008 season, when they beat South Carolina 31-10.

The Hawkeyes beat Florida 37-17 to conclude the 2003 season in Tampa. They lost to the Gators 31-24 in the game winding up the 2005 season.

LSU coach Les Miles says the annual matchup between representatives from the Southeastern Conference and Big Ten a "premier" game. Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz says his team is excited to be playing a team the caliber of LSU.

The Mississippi State Bulldogs are the pick out of the Southeastern Conference to play Rice in the Liberty Bowl on Dec. 31 in Memphis.

Liberty Bowl officials made the announcement Sunday night.

Bowl officials passed over Vanderbilt (8-4) who played in Memphis two years ago.

Picking Mississippi State gives bowl officials a team marking the 50th anniversary of its first game in this bowl. The Bulldogs beat North Carolina State 16-12 in 1963 when this bowl was played in Philadelphia, Pa.

The Bulldogs (6-6) needed overtime to beat Ole Miss in the Egg Bowl to become bowl eligible for a fourth straight season.

Rice (10-3) accepted its berth Saturday after beating Marshall 41-24 in the Conference USA championship game.

The Ole Miss Rebels are headed to the Music City Bowl for the first time since 2000 and will play Georgia Tech on Dec. 30.

This will be the Rebels' second time in this bowl and second game in Nashville this year. Ole Miss opened the season beating Vanderbilt a couple miles from LP Field, home of the bowl game.

Ole Miss (7-5) finished on a two-game skid that dropped the Rebels out of the AP Top 25 poll. The Rebels played in the BBVA Compass Bowl last season.

Georgia Tech (7-5) will be making its first appearance in the bowl sponsored by Franklin American Mortgage as the Atlantic Coast Conference's representative. This is the Yellow Jackets' 17th straight bowl berth and 42nd overall.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)