State Parole Board Chairman Malcolm McMillin retires - - The News for South Mississippi

State Parole Board Chairman Malcolm McMillin retires

Posted: Updated:
JACKSON, MS (Mississippi News Now) -

State Parole Board Chairman Malcolm McMillin is retiring. McMillin, who served as Hinds County Sheriff from 1991-2011, has served as chairman since April 2012.

"I appreciate Malcolm's service to the people of Mississippi. His dedication to public safety and law enforcement are deeply respected," Gov. Phil Bryant said. "I wish him and Delores the very best."

 Governor Bryant has appointed current parole board member Doug Davis to serve as chairman. His appointment is effective August 1.

Gov. Bryant chose former U.S. Marshal Nehemiah Flowers to replace Davis as member-at-large on the board.

"I am delighted that Governor Bryant appointed me to the State Parole Board, and I hope I can meet his expectations," said Flowers.

Flowers served as the United States Marshal for the Southern District of Mississippi 2002-08.

In 1973, he joined the staff of then U.S. Rep. Thad Cochran and later joined Cochran's U.S. Senate staff. He is a graduate of Belhaven University with a degree in Business Administration.

While serving as United States Marshal for the Southern District, Flowers formed the first ever Criminal Task Force, dedicated to pursuing criminals in and across state lines. He was named as 2008 Federal Law Enforcement Officer of the Year.

Flowers' appointment will be brought before the Mississippi Senate for confirmation in the 2014 legislative session.

Copyright 2013 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved

Powered by WorldNow

208 DeBuys Road
Biloxi, MS 39531
(228) 896-1313

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WLOX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.