Dombrowski's Gulfport Ward 2 lead cut to two votes

SOUTH MISSISSIPPI (WLOX) - Gulfport Councilman Ricky Dombrowski showed up at the Harrison County Courthouse with a three vote lead over republican challenger David Andre.  Once affidavit ballots were counted, that lead got trimmed to just two votes.

However, Dombrowski has not been declared the winner.  Four additional ballots must be reviewed by Gulfport's republican executive committee.  And nine other ballots must be looked at,because they didn't record votes for either candidate.

The affidavit ballots were counted at 9:00 this morning, and they gave Dombrowski a two vote edge.

Tuesday was a night of surprises for politicians across South Mississippi. Four incumbent mayors lost their re-election bids in Moss Point, Wiggins, Gautier and Diamondhead.

Longtime State Representative Billy Broomfield beat incumbent Aneice Liddell with 55 percent of the vote in Moss Point. The democrat now faces independent candidates Dobbs Dennis and John Moseley Jr. in the June general election.

Gautier Mayor Tommy Fortenberry lost his primary to Gordon Gollott, who pulled in 56 percent of the GOP vote. Gollott faces independent Edward Harding in the general election.

Mayor Jerry Alexander lost in Wiggins. Joel Miles won the GOP nomination with 74 percent of the vote. Miles will run against democrat Tina Davis in June.

And Diamondhead Mayor Chuck Ingraham lost the republican primary to Thomas Schafer, IV who garnered 56 percent of the vote. Schafer now faces independent John Fletcher. This was Diamondhead's first election since becoming a new city. Ingraham and the other current city officials were appointed to those positions when the city formed.

The mayoral matchups in three other cities were decided with the primary vote.

Bay St. Louis Mayor Les Fillingame won the democratic primary, and will face republican Jeff Harding in June.

Biloxi Mayor AJ Holloway beat David Bull in the republican primary, to face democrat Jess Kennedy.

Poplarville voters chose incumbent Mayor Billy Spiers in the democratic primary. He will face republican Brad Necaise, who won Tuesday's GOP primary.

Ocean Springs and Picayune had no mayoral primaries on Tuesday. Voters in both cities will elect their mayor during the general election.

Four mayoral candidates end Tuesday night as outright winners in their cities with no challengers in the general election.

Long Beach Mayor Billy Skellie won re-election Tuesday with a win in the GOP primary.

Jim Blevins is the new mayor of Pascagoula, winning the GOP primary outright with 52 percent of the vote.

Rusty Quave has been re-elected as D'Iberville's mayor for another four years with 60 percent of the vote.

Billy Hewes faced no opposition Tuesday, and has no opposition in the general election, making him Gulfport's mayor-elect.

For a complete list of the vote totals from all of Tuesday's primary races, visit:

Copyright 2013 WLOX. All rights reserved.