3 teachers honored with Alan Barton Excellence in Teaching Award - WLOX.com - The News for South Mississippi

3 teachers honored with Alan Barton Excellence in Teaching Award

Posted: Updated:

Several South Mississippi teachers have some extra cash to spend in their classrooms.

On Friday, the "Mississippi Power Foundation" honored three teachers with the "Alan Barton Excellence in Teaching Award".

The honorees were Gail Shemwell of Vancleave High, Deborah Worrel from St. Patrick High School and David Perdue with George County High School.

Each teacher received $3,000 to fund innovative classroom programs and another $3,000 for their personal use.

"It's not about the money. I think it's about a validation to them of what they're doing matters and counts and it makes a difference," Mississippi Power President John Atherton said. "So we're really honoring classroom teachers for the good work they do to help the educational attainment levels of their students."

Three other teachers in the Mississippi Power service region will receive the "Alan Barton Award" next week.  

Copyright 2013 WLOX. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

208 DeBuys Road
Biloxi, MS 39531
(228) 896-1313

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WLOX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.