Two Mississippi counties declared federal disaster areas

JACKSON, MS (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on Wednesday afternoon declared Forrest and Lamar counties disaster areas due to severe storms and tornadoes which moved through February 10.

Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant said he requested an Expedited Disaster Declaration from the White House on Tuesday.

"I appreciate their quick response which will ensure we are able to provide critical resources as these residents and communities begin the difficult process of recovery," Gov. Bryant said Wednesday.

Approved in this disaster declaration are:

  • Individual Assistance in the form of grants to individuals and households.
  • Public Assistance, including debris removal and emergency protective measures.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides grants for actions that reduce the risk to life and property from natural hazards.

Joint Preliminary Damage Assessment Teams made up of MEMA, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration and local officials are surveying additional damages in other counties to be considered for additional federal disaster assistance.

Anyone with damages in these counties may apply by going to or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The speech or hearing impaired may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

Copyright 2013 WLOX. All rights reserved.