Governor declares State of Emergency for South Mississippi

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - Governor Haley Barbour declared a State of Emergency for the South Mississippi counties that will be impacted by severe tropical weather in the Gulf of Mexico.

The counties affected include: George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Marion, Pearl River and Stone counties and other affected areas.

"Do not underestimate the impact of this system of tropical weather," Barbour said. "While it is not a hurricane, this weather system is expected to cause tremendous flooding. Make preparations now to protect your family and your property."

WLOX News Meteorologists and news crews are tracking the storm and the preparations across South Mississippi.