DuPree, Fitch win runoffs; Several new faces in coast districts

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - Hattiesburg Mayor Johnny DuPree has won the Democratic nomination for Mississippi governor, becoming the first black candidate to win major-party nod for the state's top job. He defeated Clarksdale businessman Bill Luckett Tuesday in the Democratic runoff.

DuPree will face Republican nominee, Lt. Governor Phil Bryant and Independent Will Oatis of Silver Creek in November.

Lynn Fitch won the Republican nomination for Treasurer, defeating Lee Yancey. Fitch the director of the state Personnel Board takes on Democrat Connie Moran, the mayor of Ocean Springs, in the general election.

House Districts 118 and 119 will have new representation. Longtime representative Roger Ishee lost his re-election bid and pledged his support to Greg Haney who defeated Ishee in the Republican runoff.

"We ran a grass roots campaign. We had a lot of friends, supporters, and encouragement and prayers," Haney told WLOX News.

He has no opposition in November.

Sonya Williams-Barnes will take the seat vacated by Frances Fredericks. Williams-Barnes defeated Richard Marsh in the Democratic runoff.

She told WLOX News Tuesday night education will be her priority, "I want to make sure all of our children, especially the state of Mississippi, receive an early childhood education, PreK- 4 and kindergarten being mandated."

Willams-Barnes has no opposition in November.

Longtime Jackson County Supervisor Tommy Brodnax was defeated in Tuesday's runoff. Ocean Springs alderman Troy Ross beat Brodnax in the District 4 Republican race.

Brodnax told WLOX News, "I wish him the best and he has my full support."

Ross will face Democratic candidate Bo Alawine in the general election.

Click here to see a complete list of Tuesday's runoff results from across South Mississippi.

Copyright 2011 WLOX. All rights reserved.