Barbour requests expedited federal disaster declaration for 14 counties

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - Gov. Haley Barbour Friday requested President Obama declare 14 counties in the Mississippi Delta as disaster areas as a result of ongoing and expected major flooding.

The counties requested include Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Jefferson, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo counties. Other counties may be added as appropriate.

"These counties will be impacted by backwater flooding, and residents should take the necessary precautions now," Gov. Barbour said. "This disaster declaration will help our local governments and state agencies prepare for the flooding and start helping those communities with recovery plans."

State and federal officials are conducting coordinated preparation efforts under previously declared federal emergency. If granted, this request would provide additional federal aid to affected local governments, individuals and businesses.

The Governor is requesting:

  • Public Assistance for Categories A-G for the 14 counties.
  • Individual Assistance including the Individuals and Households Program, Crisis Counseling, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, USDA food coupons and distribution, USDA food commodities, Disaster Legal Services, the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, and Small Business Administration disaster loans for the 14 counties.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program statewide.

Copyright 2011 WLOX. All rights reserved.