Governor requests federal disaster declaration along MS River

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - Gov. Haley Barbour on Tuesday requested President Obama declare 11 counties along the Mississippi River as disaster areas in anticipation of major flooding.

The counties requested include Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Desoto, Issaquena, Jefferson, Tunica, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson. Other counties will be added as appropriate.

"The Mississippi River will reach historic levels over the next few weeks," Gov. Barbour said. "Securing a disaster declaration now will allow the federal, state and local governments to coordinate efforts both during and after the flood. I urge any residents or property owners in the area to take the necessary precautions now and protect their property and their families."

The Governor is requesting aid through the Public Assistance, Individuals and Households program and direct federal assistance for the counties along the river.

Copyright 2011 WLOX. All rights reserved.