Surge wins title

BILOXI, MS (WLOX) - After winning games one and two in the Mississippi Coast Coliseum on Tuesday and Wednesday, the Surge laced up their skates in Augusta on Friday and net one win to claim the league title.

Coach Steffon Walby's Surge would not be denied. ripping through the Riverhawks for a five to one victory; sweeping Augusta three game to none in the best-of-five championships series.

Shane Wagner and Mark Versteeg-Lytwyn each scored two goals making sure the quest to be the best ended Friday night.

Last season the Mississippi Surge got swept by Huntsville in the SPHL championship finals. That didn't sit well with Surge head coach Steffon Walby and the returning players.

Their mission, head back to the league finals and bring the President's Cup back to the Mississippi Gulf Coast. The players would hold up the President's Cup, in celebration of reaching the top of the mountain.

"It's great to be a coach because you get to see all the young guys that put all the sweat into it. The blood, everything that goes along with hockey. They finally get to win, they're champions," Walby said.

Friday's championship game ended the hockey careers of goaltender Bill Zaniboni and left wing Matt Zultek.

"We've got a couple of guys that aren't putting on the skates anymore," Walby said. "They're going out as champions. It's great!"

Congratulations to Walby, the players and the loyal Surge fans who showed their support by attending the home games. It was truly a championship season.

Copyright 2011 WLOX. All rights reserved.