State of Emergency declared for 14 counties

JACKSON, MS (WLOX) - A State of Emergency has been declared for 14 Mississippi counties after spring storms swept across the state.

Lt. Gov. Phil Bryant, in consultation with Gov. Haley Barbour, ordered the State of Emergency. The counties of Attala, Choctaw, Clay, Copiah, Greene, Hinds, Issaquena, Kemper, Leflore, Neshoba, Rankin, Tallahatchie, Warren and Wayne reported damage from the storms.

The State of Emergency order allows emergency responders to efficiently utilize resources and receive state aid to respond to the situation.

"Our prayers are with the families and communities that have been affected by this line of strong storms," Gov. Barbour said. "This emergency declaration will help local responders begin recovery quickly."

Gov. Barbour is in South Carolina and will return to Mississippi Saturday.

Copyright 2011 WLOX. All rights reserved.